After 2 flights, 3 days, 3 cab rides, a youth hostel, lots of orientation meetings, and even more walking, I have finally made it to my homestay. My family’s apartment is in a phenomenal location. I am in the 8th Arrondisement, which is the Champs-Elysées District. If you don’t know what the Champs-Elysées is, then you might be culturally blind. But I’ll forgive you. It is the largest street in Paris and is filled with the most expensive shops, the trendiest clubs, and it is all capped off at the end by the Arc du Triomphe. This world famous street is a mere 3 minute walk from my apartment. Don’t believe me?

The bad news about the apartment? It’s on the fourth floor. And there’s no elevator. And in french the ground floor is floor 0, so I’m actually on the fifth floor. Carrying up my luggage was one of the least fun activities I’ve done in a while. I’ve only been at the apartment for a few hours and I just finished unpacking and I’m exhausted. I’m having my first dinner with the family tonight and to be honest, I need to nap before then. I hope this exciting news ties people over until I do a little bit of sightseeing and preparing for school tomorrow!

 

 

