I’d like to think I hold this blog to some (incredibly low) standards and this past week my camera charger has gone missing. In the hunt to compete with myself for the worst reasons ever not to have a new post, I decided I could not possibly post anything if there was no new pictures. I have given up this nobility and I’ll show you guys some old pictures of things that I did over a week ago.

Before I left for Paris I bought a guide book called “Paris: Free & Dirt Cheap.” The title should actually read “The Marais and Oberkampf: Free or Regularly Priced” but that’s a much more difficult book to sell. So with my guide to a couple arrondissements I set off to wander the Marais, Paris’ former Jewish and now Jewish and artsy district. I found 2 museums that cost me a combined total of 8,50 Euros! Good job book!

The first was La Maison de Victor Hugo or Victor Hugo’s house. If you are unfamiliar with celebrated 19th century french authors, Victor Hugo wrote the novel Les Misérables, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, and many other lesser known works. Here’s a couple of pictures of his house on Place des Vosges, and the inside of his house which has been remodeled into a museum.

I'm standing in the middle of the square. This is just one wall of the picturesque Places des Vosges.

Captions! How new and exciting! I’ve really gotten to learn how to use a blog.

The room where he entertained his guests, and the man was popular.

Victor Hugo was the closest thing Paris had to a celebrity in the 19th century. He was so popular and well-loved, his house is filled with fabulous gifts from his contemporaries. Later, his bok The Hunchback of Notre Dame was so well loved, that it prevented the “eye-sore” of Notre Dame from being torn down.

This is the desk he wrote at. Look tall? He wrote standing up. Weird.

The other true gem of a museum that we stumbled upon was Le Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature – The Museum of Hunting and Nature. When you are wandering an old neighborhood with lots of side streets and a guidebook telling you that things are cheap, sometimes you have enough time to try a museum off the beaten path. The paintings may not be as impressive as at the Louvre (or even a 5th grade art class) but the museum certainly makes up for it in character.

Every room is dedicated to a different unique part of the hunting experience: dogs, birds, guns, hunting musical instruments, furs, animal sounds, unicorns, antlers, etc. My friend Mia and I had the most wonderful time exploring each room with amazement.

A typical lamp around the museum.

Our first thought: How charming! They turned this candelabra into a lamp! They are truly clever.

Then we looked closer.

What the heck?!?! Why is that dog eating the deer?!?!?

Typical hunting museum. But this was the case in every room. There were more antler decorations than can be imagined (think Gaston). There was also a series of paintings of hunting dogs on the chase with each of the dogs named painted on to them.

There was a room dedicated to unicorn sightings and articles about unicorns. There was a room just for animal heads including a yak and rhinoceros.

I'll let you insert your own caption!

Overall I’ve had some great days in the Marais. What I’ve also had a lot of is work. Yuck. My classes all have a lot of reading so I spend lots of time at cafés or on the métro just doing reading. It’s a little less glamourous than oh… the Arc de Triomphe.

I promise that this will be the longest break ever between posts!

–>

