I have to say, we ate quite well in Vietnam. The noodle dishes there are unbeatable and the flavors were always fresh and delightful. You could tell that the fruits and veggies were bought from the market that morning. I’m a big sucker for pho, so I probably had it 5 or 6 times throughout our time there. Look at all of the delicious food I ate and try not to let your mouth water too much.

And I might have already put up some of these pictures, but that’s okay. No one’s counting.

Some uninteresting looking pho on the first night. Still delicious. So much lime and coriander…

A mysterious meat dish. Any guesses?

 

Orange Chicken. Not really a good picture. Really good food.

 

A delicious iced coffee I had in Ho Chi Minh City. It just looked too pretty not to include.

 

Chicken in a clay pot. They make it in a clay pot.

 

This dessert is just sugar and peanuts. Sounds weird, but it’s actually delicious.

 

You can kind of see the peanut inside the gelatinous sugar… Kind of.

 

Cooking Class Pics again: Papaya Salad

 

Egg Rolls. So fresh and crunchy.

 

Sweet and Sour Vegetable Soup. I think.

 

The remains of chicken/fish cooked in banana leaves. I forgot to take a picture before I devoured it.

 

Fried aubergines. I have all of these recipes too if you want them!

 

Vietnamese hot pot. It’s kind of like fondue. You boil everything in the steaming pot of broth and then roll it all up into a little egg roll/burrito. Beef, lettuce, pineapple, cucumbers.

 

A Vietnamese potato skin with a mustard and garlic sauce. Mostly garlic.

A bacon cheeseburger! Happy 4th of July!

4th of July continues. Some of the best onion rings I’ve ever had.

Pizza and the world’s cheapest beer – Huda!

Spicy tofu from our Halong Bay boat cruise.

Chicken and corn soup. Right up my alley.

Here’s a preview of my next post! The delicious “bun” we got in a small ramshackle restaurant in Hanoi. It’s Tori’s favorite Vietnamese dish and we found a good one!

More previews. Delicious street dough balls.

I honestly don’t remember what this was. A salad of some sorts. The carrot flower is pretty though.

Vietnamese duck.

I ordered beef jerky for dinner one night. A great decision.

A walking advertisement for Tiger Beer. I betrayed Huda so quickly.

You were right! The mysterious meat was dog! Dog meat. The answer to your question is kind of like roast beef, but a little more dog-like.

 

