Hey everyone! I’m finally outside of the Great Firewall of China and I can freely post on WordPress. I’m about 2 weeks behind on posts, so they’re going to be coming fast and furious. Especially because I’m spending a night at the Bangkok airport where the wifi is incredibly fast and I’m incredibly bored. But more on that later. Let’s get back to… Bangkok?

The view from our hotel room in Bangkok. Not too shabby.

Yes! About 2 weeks ago, Tori and I had our last day in Bangkok and we decided to travel north to see Ayutthaya. This city was the former capital of Siam and has a special place in Thai royalty. King Rama IV loved the area so much, he decided to have his royal summer palace built there in the 1800s. Our little day trip started at this beautiful palace. The palace is very interesting because it was built after the French came to Thailand, so it is a pleasant mix of Thai pagodas and colonial architecture. Take a look for yourself:

A little pagoda in the middle of a lake. Like at all of the French chateaux.

This lighthouse is a great example of the weird combination. I liked it. Tori hated it. Thoughts?

Then we went to one of the most incredibly photographable places I’ve been. The ruins of the former temple at Ayutthaya are incredible. Dating back thousands of years and representing three different faiths and architecture styles, the temple was ruined a thousand years ago in an earthquake or something and no one bothered to rebuild it. The result is the dazzling red limestone ruins overtaken by the lush green landscape. That’s really about all the history there is to this place. The guides just let you walk around and soak it in and soak I did.

This head was once on the ground but has been picked up by and embedded in the roots of the tree. Crazy!

 

Here I am, lurking in the shadows.

We then visited some other uninteresting temple and then Thailand’s 3rd largest buddha. You saw the 2nd in my last post, and this is basically the same thing, but slightly smaller. Here he his:

 

And if your taste buds have been missing my food posts, it’s here! Here is all of the yummy food that I ate while in Thailand – an endlessly delicious country.

A little chicken salad at a gorgeous restaurant in Chiang Mai I’m sure was delicious.

 

The coconut pancakes from above at the floating market.

 

A coconut cream taco garnished with carrots. More delicious than it sounds.

Vegetarian Thai Tofu Salad.

 

Vegetarian Fried Spring Rolls.

 

Something else at the vegetarian restaurant we went to. I should put these posts up closer to when I actually eat the foods.

 

My first pad thai. Excellent.

I have no idea why there are so many spoons for this dish.

 

Some kind of spicy chicken dish. But aren’t they all?

Airplane food. The chicken was really spicy. And yes, everyone gets served water (in the blue), fruit juice (in the green), and tea. ALL THREE! Go Thai Airways.

 

Northern Thai chicken wings. Not quite buffalo wings, but still tangy and scrumptious.

And the award for best thing I ate in Thailand goes to… Massaman Curry! It’s heavy on potatoes and just a little spicy.

 

