Hey everyone! I know it’s been about a month since I last posted, but it hasn’t been my fault! I swear! I’ve been traveling through the darkest reaches of Kenya and Ethiopia for the last 5 weeks and I’ve been having a blast! However, wifi hasn’t exactly made it to this part of Africa in a major way. A couple places have it, but I would never be able to upload all of the pictures and since I know most of you just read this for the pictures, I felt it would be pointless to just post words. But I’m at a hotel in Ethiopia that has great wifi and in just a couple of days I’ll be leaving for Dubai and the developed world! Hallelujah! But don’t worry, I will be sure to post about all of my misadventures in Kenya and Ethiopia because trust me, there is some good stuff. Bandits, Border Police, Ancient Churches, Lions, Tribal Women’s Boobs, and much much more.

But until then, I thought I would still put something up. For Christmas this year, I kept telling my mom no gifts, and I decided to send her this email to reiterate that. Then I realized that there are a lot of people who like me and I hope get some enjoyment out of my blog or at least some people get enjoyment out of me getting throwing up on planes at 3AM. Either way, I thought I would share this with everyone! Don’t feel any pressure, but with Thanksgiving right around the corner and the holidays just beyond that, it just seemed right to put this up. So donate what you can whether it’s 10,000 dollars or 10,000 Vietnamese dong (50 cents) you’ll be making a difference! So here’s my email in full!

As I write this from a hotel in Gonder, Ethiopia having just come from the Blue Nile Falls, the Lalibela Churches, and the ruins of Axum, I can’t help but think how fortunate I am to have been given this opportunity to travel the world without a thought to the consequences. I don’t have horrible student loans that need to be paid immediately and I have the resources to be able to arrange any kind of trip I choose. I have climbed mountains, swum to the depths of the oceans, and I’m currently on my 9th country. I guess what I’m trying to say is, I feel like I don’t deserve any gifts. All I’ve been doing is enjoying myself and I certainly don’t need any rewards for that!

So instead, I’m supplying a list of charities and NGOs that I’ve either visited along the way or also just a couple that I like and support. Choose your favorite. Choose all of them. It’s up to you how much to give. I also don’t care if you give in my name. In fact, give in your own name! Take that tax deduction for yourself! Thank you so much and I can’t wait to share with all of you the gifts and stories that I’ve gathered from around the world.

Cambodia:
New Hope Orphanage
http://www.newhopecambodia.com/how_to_help.php
Visited in June with my sister and we played with lots of adorable children.
https://bhamed.wordpress.com/2012/06/24/angkor-what/

Bangladesh:
ICDDRB – International Centre for Diarrheal Disease Research, Bangladesh
http://www.icddrb.org/donate/overview
My friend Yoshika worked for them and we had fun evaluating water pumps all over Srimongol!
https://bhamed.wordpress.com/2012/08/23/tea-time-in-bangladesh/

India:
Mother Teresa Foundation
http://www.motherteresafoundation.org.in/youcanhelp/donate
I actually cried at the Mother Teresa House. Talk about one inspirational lady!
https://bhamed.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/get-me-out/

Ethiopia:
Awassa Children’s Project

http://awassa.org/

This is an extremely well established orphanage and community vocation
training center that is doing incredibly work for children who were
orphaned because of AIDS.

Obscene Amount of Plane Flights:
Carbon Offsets
I’ve been using a whole lot of jet fuel and this is how I will be able
to sleep at night.
http://www.carbonfund.org/individuals

This is a healthy mix of different things to donate to so I hope something strikes a chord with you. If you want any more information about any of these charities or my experience with them feel free to ask! Thanks for everything and Merry Christmas!

